Whiling away the hours

alice

Whilst I was studying in Leiden I didn’t have anywhere near the amount of lectures I was used to having back in the UK, and so I had an inordinate amount of time to myself. I filled these by pursuing my love of sketching and drawing – a passion I hadn’t really invested much time in for a number of years. This was just a jumble of ideas and silly sketches inspired by Alice in Wonderland, who happens to be one of my favourite childhood characters (after Winnie-the-Pooh of course) and I didn’t really have any kind of specific vision other than fitting in as many Wonderland references in as possible! I would love to experiment more with these ideas, perhaps quotes in the centre of the page with a few small sketches around the side… but we’ll see if I get time for that any time soon! Either way, I’m quite happy with how this turned out, and whenever I see this sketch it always makes me smile!

Leave a Reply

